JURRASIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON

jurassic-park-michael-crichton-book-cover

Who hasn’t seen The Jurrasic Park movies? It completely blew my mind as a kid. I wanted to read this book ever since I came to know it existed. The book and the movies are responsible for the way we look at dinosaurs today and also at special effects in movies.

 

STUFF ON THE BACK COVER SAYS

A billionaire has created a technique to clone dinosaurs. From the DNA that his crack team of scientists extract, he is able to grow the dinosaurs in his laboratories and lock them away on an island behind electric fences, creating a sort of theme park. He asks a group of scientists from several different fields to come and view the park, but something goes terribly wrong when a worker on the island turns traitor and shuts down the power.

 

PLOT IN SHORT

A rich old guy and his biotech firm has cloned dinos and created a park for the public’s  entertainment and ofcourse to earn money. He puts together a bunch of people from different fields along with his 2 grandchildren to show off the park and its security. A disgruntled employee tries to leak out the parks secrets to a rival firm and kicks off the events that prove how dangerous dinos really are.

 

THE GOOD

  • Edge of your seat thriller
  • The concept is amazing
  • The story line is crisp and fast paced
  • The characters are memorable
  • Well researched work
  • Dinosaurs !!

 

THE BAD

  • Lot of science stuff may turn some readers off
  • The character of Lex is extremely annoying
  • Some loop holes maybe still found in technical aspects of palaeontology

 

MY THOUGHTS

I absolutely loved this book. I personally think Michael Crichton is a genius. The story, the setting, the characters are all very exciting. However I loved the movie too and can’t decide which one I liked better-the book or the movie. I saw the movie first and then read the book .This helped me understand the book better. A must read book for the lovers of sci-fi genre. This science-at-the-brink-of chaos thriller will not disappoint you.

MY RATINGS

4.8/5

 

8 thoughts on “JURRASIC PARK BY MICHAEL CRICHTON

    • Even I didn’t know about the book Miranda, till a few years ago..he’s also written a sequel “The lost world ” with Ian Malcolm as the chief character.. Do check that out too..I love animal themed books..please do suggest some books if you’ve liked any in this genres..

      Liked by 1 person

      • I will look out for that one too, thank you very much 🙂 I don’t know if I’ve read anything quite like this, but I really enjoyed reading The Time Machine, The Invisible Man, Dracula and Chocky – have you read any of those? I really like reading things which are set in reality, but also have a complete departure from the sorts of things that happen in real life 😀

        Liked by 1 person

      • I loveeee the Bram Stoker’s Dracula..it was one of my first horror books that drew me into this genre..then I discovered Stephen King and my life just isn’t the same after that..give Cujo a try..its by Stephen king..you might like it..The Time machine is very high on my to- read list..thanks for the suggestions!

        Liked by 1 person

      • Excellent!! I really like Stephen King too!! I’ve never read Cujo, thank you very much for the recommendation! 😀 I really loved reading his books The Shining and Christine, they are really great for scaring you 🙂 It is so nice to meet someone who likes the same sort of books as you! I have lots to read now 🙂 🙂 Thank you very much!

        Like

Leave a Reply

